Skip to content

Francis Cang

Band members:

  • Francis Cang

Current sessionists

  • Clapton Asuncion
  • Al Ancheta
  • Jonas Berol
Francis Cang is a solo guitarist based in Cagayan de Oro City. He produces provocative instrumental music – continuously challenging himself to make music as good as the music he enjoys listening to. 
Like many guitar enthusiasts, Cang was enamoured early on by heavy metal sounds and guitar virtuosos such as Paul Gilbert and Greg Howe. More recently, he leans towards new school players like Chris Buck and Matt Schofield.
In 2020, under the name Obsolete. Cang explored ambient soundscapes with dark, cinematic undertones with a trilogy of single releases spanning November 2020 to January 2021.
In 2021, Francis returns to his instrumental guitar roots but also drawing a lot of inspiration from math rock acts like Totorro and tide / edit.


Francis Cang - Mayflower | Melt Records
Francis Cang - Sky Burial | Melt Records
Francis Cang - Cloud Surfing | Melt Records
Francis Cang - New Game + | Melt Records
Francis Cang - What Comes Around | Melt Records
Francis Cang - Cure Light Wounds | Melt Records

Video Gallery